Log in

Log in

Log In

CCPG Awards


The Jonathan Heintzelman Service Award

The Jonathan Heintzelman Service Award is presented most years to a person who is recognized for providing extraordinary service on behalf of the Chicago Council on Planned Giving. The award was named in 2010 in honor of Jon Heintzelman who was the first President of CCPG when it was formed in 1980. Jon, who is a graduate of North Park University and Northwestern University School of Law, was Director of Planned Giving at Northwestern University for over two decades, then became Acting Vice President of Development at Northwestern before being named as Vice President of Advancement at Loyola University and now is now the Exectutive Director at Ter Molen Watkins & Brandt. In addition to running outstandingly successful programs at Northwestern and Loyola, Jon has contributed his talents to CCPG for many decades as a respected leader in the planned giving profession and as a frequent presenter of many luncheon and symposium programs. He is considered a true leader among development and planned giving professionals and his name reflects well upon those people who are selected as awardees of the Jonathon Heintzelman Service Award.

2024 Jonathan Heintzelman Service Award Recipient

Katrina M. Pipasts, CSPG, Senior Vice President, Director of Planned Giving Services, Foundation & Institutional Advisors, Northern Trust

The people to date who have received the CCPG Service Award are:

  • 2009 Joel Schaffer, DePaul University
  • 2010 Jon Heintzelman, Loyola University (Award named in honor of Jon at the 2010 event)
  • 2011 Denise Baronowski, Banking industry
  • 2012 Sandy Macnab, Alexander Macnab & Associates
  • 2013 Patty Shanahan, Chicago Botanic Garden
  • 2014 Joseph Like, American Academy of Pediatrics
  • 2015 Payson Wild, Provenza Consulting
  • 2016 Robert Shafis, Field Museum
  • 2017 Elizabeth Roghair, Consultant
  • 2018 Rich Goode, DePaul University, Office of Advancement
  • 2019 Anita S. Ridge, University of Illinois (Chicago)
  • 2020 Kathy Kielar, WTTW | WFMT
  • 2021 Chuck Van Hecke, Loyola University
  • 2022 Laura Knitt, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • 2023 Holly Gibout, Foundation for Women's Cancer


    The Russell V. Kohr Award 

    In most years the Chicago Council on Planned Giving recognizes and honors a respected leader in the planned giving field from the Chicago area. These are people who are respected as mentors to others and have been noted and accomplished professionals to whom others seek counsel and wisdom.

    The Award is named for Russell V. Kohr, the founder of the planned giving program at Ravinia Festival, and who managed that successful program for two decades. Through his talents and skills, Russ made possible the creation of the Steans Institute for Young Artists at Ravinia. Russ was the oldest member of CCPG when he retired from Ravinia in 2003 at the age of eighty-three. He died shortly thereafter.

    Russ had many years in fundraising following his graduation from Northwestern University and his service in the Navy during World War II where he served with distinction in the Pacific theatre. Most of his professional years were in higher education until he came to Ravinia in 1983. He received the Alumni Merit Award from Northwestern in 1971 in recognition of his accomplishments in the development profession. He was a gentle soul and a thoughtful, innovative, dignified and very effective leader in the planned giving profession.

    2024 Russell V. Kohr Award Recipient

    Rich Goode, Executive Director of Planned Giving, DePaul University

    The people to date who have received the Russell V. Kohr Award are:

    • 2005 Marc Carmichael, R&R Newkirk Co.
    • 2006 Art Murray, Bank of America and The Salvation Army
    • 2007 Bill Cline, Northwestern University
    • 2008 Dorothy Speidel, Northwestern University
    • 2009 David Crabb, University of Chicago
    • 2010 Frank Minton, PGCalc
    • 2011 Charlie Slamar, Charles Slamar and Associates
    • 2012 LeRoy Johnson, Covenant Trust Co.
    • 2013 James R. Hellige, Foley and Lardner
    • 2014 Scott McCue, McCue LLC
    • 2015 Kathy Sperlak, R&R Newkirk
    • 2016 H. Kenwood Lewis, Northwestern Memorial Foundation
    • 2017 David S. Rosen, Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago
    • 2018 Marilyn Schaffer, Lincoln Park Zoo
    • 2019 Andre Donikian, Pentera
    • 2021 Marguerite H. Griffin, Northern Trust
    • 2022 Andy Hibel, HigherEd Jobs
    • 2023 Julie Captain, CFRE, CAP, Shirley Ryan Ability Lab

      Chicago Council on Planned Giving © 2017  |  Phone: 630-599-7103  |

      Terms / Privacy / CCPG logo courtesy of Bark Design